Spring has come… and a Gluten Free Brownie recipe!

Yesterday was the first day of spring! The air outside smelt so good, and the three batches of brownies I baked made my house smell wonderful too.

I’m usually not very hungry in the morning, but yesterday I woke up craving brownies. Not good, I know. I decided to use my evil cravings for good and work on my gluten free brownie recipe. I wanted a fudgy gluten free brownie that tasted like a normal brownie but better of course! It took three batches before I was happy with the results, but it was worth all the baking!

DSC03305

Maybe I was craving brownies because I have this huge bag of cooca powder staring at me every time I open my pantry. Yeah, that’s it!

DSC03316

Colt and I played outside in the morning sunshine while we waited for the brownies to bake.

DSC03293

I think I pushed that fire truck around the yard about 6,128 times.

DSC03295

When we came inside, we had a proper breakfast of sautéed mushrooms for Colt and scramble eggs and veggies for me. I had to eat extra healthy to make up for me pre-breakfast brownie batter snack.

DSC03274

DSC03272

One of the biggest signs that spring has come is the overabundance of eggs the chickens are laying! I’d feel guilty if I didn’t eat them for at least one meal a day. This is the batch Justin washed last night. 141 eggs!

DSC03233

I couldn’t have all these brownies around the house so I got on the bike and took two batches over to a friends house.
My friend, Shalom, has four kids and is always babysitting so there are guaranteed to be tons of kids for Colt to play with there. He loves it!

DSC03230

DSC03228

Shalom had just taught the kids about different plants growing outside that they could eat. They picked a big bowl of clover and dandelions to add to the days salad.

DSC03225

DSC03226

Colt was so worn out from playing all morning. He went right down for a nap when we got home. I used the time to pick my own wild salad for lunch and fold loads upon loads of laundry.

The best lunch ever! Dandelions, clover, wild onions, spring mix, Jerusalem artichokes, cashews, and tahini garlic dressing!
DSC03311

Later in the day, we went over to my running coach and good friend Annapurna’s house. I’ve been doing a lot of cross training because of my hip problems, and she lets me ride her bike a couple times a week. Doing sprints on the trainer is a grueling workout, but I love it!

The torture machine.
DSC03238

On our way home, I saw my man catching us dinner before he came home. The benefits of living in the country!

DSC03239

I had a quick delicious protein smoothie when I got home. Blueberries, spinach, protein powder and almond milk. It’s actually really good. Colt loved it!

DSC03312

DSC03315

Later on, we cooked supper together. Justin baked his fish and I made a warm kale, roasted sweet potato, and roasted onion salad and some quinoa. It was soooooo good!

DSC03319

Now that you’re done looking at how I spent my first day of spring, I’ll reward you with my Gluten Free Brownie recipe. See… reading this post was not entirely pointless. Your life is about to be enriched with brownies!

Gluten Free Brownies

Ingredients
1/3 C. Sorghum Flour
1/3 C. Rice Flour
2 heaping TBSP Cocoa Powder
1/3 C. Sugar
1/3 C. packed Brown Sugar
1/2 tsp. Salt
1/2 tsp. Baking Soda
2 large Eggs
1 tsp. Vanilla
1/2 C. Butter
1 C. Chocolate Chips, divided

Grease an 8×8 brownie pan and set aside. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
Put all dry ingredients in a bowl and mix together.

DSC03282

DSC03283

Whisk eggs and vanilla together. Pour over dry ingredients and mix together.

DSC03251

Melt butter and pour over 1/2 cup of chocolate chips. Stir together until chocolate is melted.

DSC02736

DSC02738

Mix melted chocolate into brownie batter. Stir until all the ingredients are well blended and fold in remaining 1/2 cup of chocolate chips.

DSC03286

DSC03255

Pour and spread batter into prepared pan. Bake for 25 to 30 minutes.

DSC03287

Here’s the real reason we all make brownies: to lick clean the brownie batter bowl.

DSC03288

When the brownies are done baking set them aside to cool. After you are done practicing extreme patience serve yourself a delicious brownie. You deserve it!

DSC03300

Or you can give the whole pan to your husband and see how much eats. This is what was left after Justin got done. I will never get over being envious of what he can eat!

DSC03326

Enjoy the recipe and let me know how you like them!

2 thoughts on “Spring has come… and a Gluten Free Brownie recipe!

  1. Yay! I recognize these amazing brownies.

    So good to visit with you, Bethie, and your little man last week. Since then Katharine has started walking, and I think she realized, “hey, if Colt can do it, I can too!”

    We would still really like to meet your mother when she’s in town!

Leave a Reply

