Easy, Healthy, Almond Crusted Pesto Chicken – GF

Last week, I went to town with some lovely lady friends. We had a blast! We ate out, shopped for dresses at Ross (don’t you just love that store) and went to the strangest Asian market.

My very unexciting but healthy lunch; the “bunless” burger. I know… so boring but it was good!
Since when do two pieces of broccoli actually count as a side?
DSC02614

Start them early. The beginning of a health nut!
DSC02615

I was glad I chose the boring lunch after I started trying on dresses!
DSC02618

The Asian market had a huge produce section. We found the weirdest fruits there…
DSC02601

And the widest variety of fish! This one wins the award for the scariest piece of seafood there. I was not excited when my husband told me that we have these in our creek! I’m going to forget about that piece of info when it’s time to go swimming in this summer. Yeah… like that’s possible!
DSC02606

I was short on time when I got home, and I needed to make something fast, easy and of course delicious. I don’t mean to brag, but I nailed it. You can make this recipe for just you and your hubby or a house full of guests. It’s so easy! The almond crust adds crunch, a nutty flavor, and keeps the chicken moist. Make it tonight!

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
Crush almonds in a bag. Don’t pulverize them. You want some chunky pieces in there for crunch.
DSC02658

Toast the almonds on the stove. Your goal is to get the almonds to a nice brown color without burning them. Watch carefully; nuts burn fast!
DSC02659

Perfect!
DSC02672

Add grated cheese and salt and pepper to taste to the nuts. You’ll want roughly a 3 to 1 ratio of nuts to cheese. So if you made 1 cup of crushed roasted nuts add 1/3 cups of cheese.
DSC02675

I love this cheese from Trader Joe’s. Actually, I love everything from Trader Joe’s. I drive over an hour to do my grocery shopping there. I am truly devoted to that store.
DSC02673

Between two pieces of plastic wrap pound and flatten raw, thawed, chicken breast into 1/4 inch thick pieces.
DSC02661

Season chicken with salt and pepper. Spread with a heaping tablespoon of pesto. I LOVE Costco’s pesto! It’s one of the best things to have on hand when you’re in need of a quick supper. If it’s not already in your fridge GET SOME!
DSC02663

DSC02665

Top the chicken with a layer of thinly sliced mozzarella.
DSC02670

Roll it up like a cinnamon roll. Mmmmm…. cinnamon rolls… am I the only one who hears those two words and immediately gets a craving. Pathetic!
DSC02671

Roll the chicken pest wrap in the almond cheese mix. Coat it well!
DSC02678

Put the chicken in a pan and drizzle with a little bit of melted butter. Cook for 25 to 30 minutes. You’ll see below that I made one wrap with pancko crumbs too because I wanted to see which one my Hunter liked better. The verdict: he said the almond crusted chicken had more flavor. Yay!
DSC02680

Take it out of the oven when it’s bubbling and oozing melted cheese. It made the whole kitchen smell divine. You know food is going to taste good when it does that! Oh and doesn’t the nut crust looks so much better than the panko crust?
DSC02681

This dish would go great with pasta. I served it on sautéed kale. Kale is a health nut’s food of choice.
DSC02704

The aftermath of cooking this dish… easy clean-up! Now go and make this amazing meal! You’ll thank me. 🙂
DSC02682

2 thoughts on “Easy, Healthy, Almond Crusted Pesto Chicken – GF

  1. might have to do that tomorrow 🙂 just don’t have any cheese or pesto 😛
    I wish we had a trader joe’s near by! 3 1/2 hours away!!

Leave a Reply

